Can you taste the rainbow?

Found myself in Okayama, Japan and something tastes different. Oh yeah, it’s the Japanese rainbow.  Does it have a salty taste?— A sweet taste? — A vanilla taste? Or just one of those taste that you can’t really identify, not sure you want to taste again, but because you are curious to find out what exactly is that taste, you keep going back to the ‘rainbow’ and putting your precious tongue at risk, just for another taste. Oh yeah, it’s the Japanese rainbow.

 

Silly little kids think rainbows are those pretty colourful water-marks in the sky after it rains, with a pot of gold at the end. But being in Japan, I realize that the Japanese ‘rainbow’’ doesn’t have that pot of gold at the end, but rather a pot of natto.

 

My background exploring Jamaican flavours lead me to appreciate rainbows of a more spicy variety and I have somehow grown accustomed to all those side effects, a major one being the dangers of indulging one’s appetite publicly; let’s just say one has to master the skill of appreciating his choice of rainbows with ‘’CAUTION’’ in that side of the world. It is quite logical then to question the relevance of indulging this type of desire but the proof as they say, is in the pudding.

 

My recollection of this addiction to Jamaican spices and the potency of that rainbow has lead me to question the strength of the Japanese ‘rainbow,’ does it seem a little dull because it is lacking the sugar, and spice I’ve grown accustomed to? Is the flavour grossly unpalatable; or have my taste buds just gone numb? I need answers!

I get the feeling I’m not alone in this state of uncertainty so, if you are a buffet and you happen to taste a ‘rainbow’ that is ridiculously closeted (as in, afraid to being even called gay, afraid to meet you, afraid to talk on the phone, afraid afraid, afraid….); only calls or emails you when you they feel ‘colorful’; wants to ‘’play sex’’ and forget tomorrow (not that that’s a bad idea…*wink wink*); locked in an iron-fist marriage; into you on day one and disappears by day seven; you happen to meet at a straight club while out with your fag-hag; wants to bring you on a date with his girlfriend and introduces you as his ‘English teacher’; you can rest assured that you are eating a Japanese ‘rainbow’. The good part about a buffet is that you have choices…..but when you are at a Chinese restaurant buffet, all the choices are Chinese food…. So a Japanese ‘rainbow’ buffet is no different! It’s all Japanese ‘rainbow’ food! But, as my mother said, if you don’t like it, spit it out of your mouth! And that’s the choice you are faced with; ever so often, at a ‘rainbow’ buffet…. Swallow or spit it out!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rudegirltalia
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 19:24:26

    This article is fantastic.
    I think after you’ve tasted the best everything else is inconsequential.
    Sometimes you have to eat not only because of the taste, but to stay alive.

    Reply

    • fromtops2bottoms
      Apr 10, 2011 @ 12:35:17

      Thanks ”RUDEGIRL”.. lololol. I love your ID! cho!
      I have tasted the best ?? OMG!! I wonder where??? You nuh easy! Behave nuh!! cho man!!!
      Well, I want to ‘eat’ in a palatable environment! :=))

      Reply

  2. brannen779
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 04:37:14

    Well, one has to appreciate the different flavors of the rainbow. As one who has traveled to different places, I know I do and I find each place is very different. However, they all have a lot in common. I find it may take a while to distinguish what makes each different. I just try not to impose the ‘sameness’ from one to the other. One thing that is the same all over is that you will always have those who do not wish to be ‘known’ outside of themselves or outside certain circles. How they go about it then, is how each place differs. Some are on the “DL”, some are “married” (only to call you when its convenient), some become “busy” and don’t have time when you have time. Some have ‘complete memory loss’ and don’t even recognize you when they see you in public (that one is pretty harsh!!) Its all the same — just different colors of the rainbow. Its up to each person to decide what (if any) and how much (again, if any) to put up with. Let it string itself along, or nip it in the bud IMMEDIATELY!! The signs are always there! OR …. one can dive in and play the game just as well. Its a matter of perspectice and what one ultimately wants.

    Reply

    • fromtops2bottoms
      Apr 10, 2011 @ 12:39:28

      Thanks for your feedback! I appreciate it and I so agree with you!!!! :=)
      It all boils down to how much of THE RAINBOW can you deal with in one sitting! It’s all about your tolerance level! I think mine is weary right now. :=)
      But I press on in hope that one day, I will be able to find that TRUE RAINBOW that, when I am faced with the ‘spit or swallow’ option, I will be able to swallow (with no reservation!).

      Reply

  3. suddenwhiplash
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 10:04:14

    What a wonderful, vivid post this is..Good job, love the metaphors love the laughs but most of all I LOVE your honesty. I think you’ve found your voice and that is what will keep me coming back as a reader. The rainbow has many colors for a reason, I think yours is purple heart. 😉

    Reply

    • fromtops2bottoms
      Apr 11, 2011 @ 10:59:17

      Thanks for your feedback, SUDDENWHIPLASH. I try to be as honest as possible…. No sugar coat.. No pretense!! Im looking forward to you reading the next one. Coming out soon! :=))))

      Reply

Leave a Reply

